Italy!

This Wednesday, I’ll be going to Italy and Sicily on a Study Abroad program hosted by my college.  The trip will last nine days, and we’ll be staying in 4 star hotels.  On the first day alone, we’ll be in Rome, Naples, and Pompeii before heading to Palermo, Sicily.  We will see… a lot of stuff in Sicily before heading back to Italy–DAGGUMMIT!  Let me just grab a copy of the itinerary:

Thursday March 8th
Arrive Fiumicino airport and departure to Naples for a panoramic tour including Mergellina. Castle dell’Ovo,
the Royal Palace. Continue onto to Pompei visit the ruins of this ancient city destroyed by the eruption of
Vesuvius in 79 a.D . Late afternoon transfer to Naples pier – ferry to Palermo. Overnight.

Friday March 9th
Arrive Palermo pier and departure for a full day tour of Palermo including the Norman Palace, the Cathedral
and Erice, a middle-aged town situated at a height of 800 metres. Overnight.

Saturday March 10th
Full day tour Segesta with its memorable Doric Temple dated back to the 5th Century and Selinunte with its
famous temple. Overnight.

Sunday March 11th
Departure from Palermo to Monreale visit of the Cathedral and Benedictine Chapel then on to Agrigento, visit
of the Valley of Temples: Juno, Concord, Heracles, Olympia-Zeus, Castor and Pollux and transfer to Hotel.
Overnight.

Monday March 12th
Departure from Agrigento to Caltagirone visit of this town famous for its wonderful ceramics then to Siracusa.
Overnight.

Tuesday March 13th
Full day tour Siracusa and Ortigia admiring the archeological area and Ortigia island, the historical centre of the
city. Afternoon continue to Taormina
Overnight

Wednesday March 14th
Full day tour Taormina and Mt Etna with wine tasting at Scilio winery. Overnight.

Thursday March 15th
Morning departure for Acireale where we will have a group cooking lesson. We will eat our meal at approx.
1:30.
Afternoon transfer to Catania airport flight AZ 1730 departure at 6.25pm
Arrive Fiumicino airport at 7.45pm and transfer to hotel
Overnight

Friday March 16th: Homeward bound.

So yeah, all that.  I plan to write about it when I get back, and I might include a copy of my class presentation upon my return.  I think something to do with Myth, but we’ll see.

Anyway, being in Italy (and Sicily) is going to be awesome, but at the same time it bites because I have several projects for M-eN I’m behind in, not to mention the Tolkien and Lewis class I’ve been auditing at Mythgard.  I also won’t be able to play Mass Effect 3 while I’m there, so RAAAGE!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m super excited to be going and it’s one of those once in a lifetime opportunities, but it’s somewhat bitter-sweet as well as I’ll be jumping right back into school work when I get back.

So the plan right now is to play the crap out of ME3 with what free time I have today, go to Italy tomorrow, have a blast while I’m there, and read Shamus Young’s new book, The Witch Watch while I’m there as well.

Ciao guys!

This entry was posted in Notices, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

