Save LotR Mod

I dropped off the grid for a while what with the new semester starting up and moving into a dorm at the new college.  But something has  recently come to my attention and I want to write a short post about it.

I stumbled across this story in my news feed today.  The gist of it is that there is a team of modders that have been trying to recreate the world of Middle-earth as a mod for the popular open-world fantasy role-playing game, Skyrim.  Game mods are a community project, undertaken by fans for the enjoyment of fans for free, but WB has decided to come down on this partcular mod.  They want a cease and desist.

Now Copyright doesn’t work this way, and I’ve been told the modders can and should ignore the order, but that hasn’t stopped WB from imposing themselves onto the situation anyway.

There is a petition going around to try and save the mod (admittedly, it does not have the most tactful name), and it already has around 3,000 signatures (as of this writing), but it’s apparently going to need a lot of support to have any impact.  I don’t know how good its chances are; it may have a shot and it may not, but I say we have to least try and save this thing.

Tolkien himself had this to say about his work:

“I had a mind to make a body of more or less connected legend, ranging from the large and cosmogonic, to the level of romantic fairy-story – the larger founded on the lesser in contact with the earth, the lesser drawing splendour from the vast backcloths – which I could dedicate simply to: to England; to my country. … I would draw some of the great tales in fullness, and leave many only placed in the scheme, and sketched. The cycles should be linked to a majestic whole, and yet leave scope for other minds and hands, wielding paint and music and drama.”

This mod has a right to exist.

I would appreciate if everyone able could lend a hand and spread the word.

This entry was posted in Notices, Video Games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Save LotR Mod

  1. Imperius says:

    Good stuff Ian. I fully support this initiative….amazing when these huge profitable corporations try and destroy a fan base’s labour of love to maximize their bottom line..absolutely disgusting imo.

    Like

  2. beriahim says:

    Signed. Almost 16000 signatures. W00t!

    Like

Leave a Reply

