Let’s Play Verdun: The Quest for Christmas Truce Finale

And so concludes our Christmas adventure.  It’s not my first ever YouTube video, but it’s my first foray into any kind of video series, as well as my first foray into video editing.  I’m not entirely happy with the quality of the picture or the entertainment value, but I hope it was enjoyable enough.  I aim to slowly, but surely, hone my new craft.

My closing thoughts on the game (for this series anyway) would be my reiterated wish for a separate Christmas playlist so that players wouldn’t have to jump through hoops just to experience the unique content.  Although I could see from the perspective of the designers any concern there may be that players might avoid the Truce mode entirely, making it difficult for those interested to find a match.  But I think a separate playlist at this point would be worth a shot.  The game is still in beta anyway, so there’s plenty of room for experimentation and growth, and as I stated before, I’m keen to see what the devs do with the game.

I’ll also go ahead and pull what I wrote on YouTube about finding information on the origins of the Christmas Tree in the USA and paste it here:

My own preliminary investigation into the introduction of Christmas trees into America turned up no evidence that Christmas in the trenches was responsible for the popularization of the tree in American culture.  Everything I found points to German immigrants throughout American history, which makes sense, as well as the country keeping up with English fashions around the time of Queen Victoria and her German husband Prince Albert (which also makes sense).  Although it wouldn’t surprise me if American soldiers saw German trees in the trenches in the winter of 1917, the year they joined, and that it might have contributed in at least some way.
Here are some links I read:
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christmas_tree
History: http://www.history.com/topics/christmas/history-of-christmas-trees
History of the Christmas Tree: http://pickyourownchristmastree.org/traditions.php

If anyone has any other info to share on the subject, please feel free to do so.

A late Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Let's Plays, Video Games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Play Verdun: The Quest for Christmas Truce Finale

  1. beastybunny says:

    That was actually cool! It was also amusing to listen to the commentary while you played.

    My understanding of the subject is that the tree at Christmas became more widespread because of Queen Victoria (or Prince Albert to be exact)

    Like

Leave a Reply

