Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance: Invincibility Bug

At some point during last year, I bought Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance on Steam, but I only recently started playing it this month.  It’s the first game in the Metal Gear series that I have ever played (since I was never a Playstation owner), and what little I know of the franchise is from Angry Video Game Nerd, Hiimdaisy’s abbreviated fan dubs, and Super Bunnyhop’s Critical Close-up series.  Unlike the rest of the series, which is stealth-based, Revengeance is all about button-mashing combos and cutting up enemies and objects into a million, tiny giblets with your power sword.  I am familiar with Hideo Kojima’s affinity for the absurd, and this game is absolutely, 100%, overthetop bonkers.  There was a time when I would have turned my nose up at that–everything had to be the highest quality of serious, realistic/grounded, believeability.  Then I mellowed out, got bored, lowered/adjusted my expectations accordingly (depending on genre and other factors), and began exploring games and shows I normally ignored before.  Point is, I freaking love Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance.  The action is nuts, the style is nuts, the writing is nuts, and I’m reveling in it.  It’s just, dare I say, fun.  It’s not terribly important to know the events of the previous games (though references to some past events are made), but Super Bunnyhop’s MGS videos did give me some semblance of an idea of what’s going on, and that was nice.

So you wanna see a weird bug I ran into while playing?  Let me show you!

Essentially what happened is I was fighting one of the game’s bosses and my health reached zero.  The camera locked, my radio buddies shouted, “RAAIIIIIIDDAAAAN!” … and, for some reason, the game kept going.  Raidan didn’t fall over, I could still move around and fight, but I couldn’t die because my health bar was already depleted.  No explanation as to how it happened, and no idea if the bug could even be replicated.

I quickly fired up Fraps, and set out to see how far I could take this glitch before I completely broke the game.  And that’s just what I did, until I had to Alt+Tab out, close the executable, and start again from the last check point, at the beginning of the fight.

Normally, I’d be annoyed at having to start over, and I was a little disappointed that I had to, but I got a kick out of the bug and I wanted to share that experience, so hey.

This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

